Guwahati Today


Fifth edition of Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival from Sept 15

GUWAHATI, Sept 13: After four successful editions, the fifth edition of Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival will be held on September 15, 16 and 17, 2017 at Pragjyoti ITA Centre, Machkhowa, Guwahati.
The Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival was conceived in 2013 with the objectives of promoting Northeast cinema and providing a platform for regional filmmakers. The festival also aims to bring in great storytellers under one roof, offering the audience a dynamic experience which combines cinema, short films, documentaries, culture and performing arts.
Nationally and internationally renowned film personalities such as Vishal Bhardwaj, filmmaker, producer, screenwriter and music composer famous for his films such as Omkara, Kaminey, Haider and Rangoon; Abhishek Chaubey, renowned filmmaker known for films like Ishqiya, DedhIshqiya and Udta Punjab; Gauri Shinde, the filmmaker behind films like English-Vinglish and Dear Zindagi; filmmaker Nagesh Kukunoor who is the visionary behind films such as Iqbal, Dor and Dhanak; the versatile Nagraj Manjule, his latest film Sairat become the first Marathi film to gross over Rs 100 crore worldwide; and Adil Hussain, internationally acclaimed actor who received the Special Jury Award at the 2017 National Film Awards will be part of the three-day festival.
The festival will include screening of films from all across the Northeast along with a few invited films from the rest of India; interactive sessions, three-day workshop on film appreciation by Film and Television Institute of India, Pune, in addition  film quiz, panel discussions and the highly anticipated award ceremony.
A Short Film Contest was also organized as a part of the festival. It was open to filmmakers from the Northeast and for films shot in the Northeast or featuring stories from the region. Over 150 short films were received for the contest and out of all the entries, the top 15 will be screened at the film festival. The top three winners will be awarded prizes of over Rs 2.5 lakh in addition to the opportunity to work with a production house of national repute.
Since 2014, the Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival introduced a lifetime achievement award to honour exceptional contribution to cinema in the Northeast. In the previous years the award have been conferred on Aribam Syam Sharma (2014) from Manipur, Abdul Mazid (2015) from Assam and Jnanada Kakoti (2016).This year, the award will be conferred on renowned Assamese director Munin Barua.
Renowned filmmaker from Assam Reema Kagti, who directed the Aamir Khan starrer Talaash; Ronnie Lahiri, Producer of Piku, Mardas Cafe and Pink; Bobbeeta Sarma, Television Producer, Director and Actor;  Actor Adil Hussain and Director, Producer, and Distributor Shiladitya Bora, are the honorary advisors who have helped shape the festival.