Local Sports


CM congratulates gold medal winners in Commonwealth Powerlifting

GUWAHATI, Sept 12:  Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has extended his greetings to four powerlifters of the State- Mousumi Bora, Arannanee Gogoi, Minu Gogoi and Minati Dihingia-who represented India in the Commonwealth Powerlifting and Benchpress Championship, and won gold medals today. The Championship is being held at Potchefstroom in South Africa.
Mousumi Bora hails from Morigaon and other three medal winners belong to Sivasagar district.
Congratulating the gold medalists for their excellent feats, Chief Minister Sonowal stated in a press release that the achievements of four lifters have brought glory to the sporting arena of the nation and will inspire upcoming sportspersons to take up sports as a profession. Sonowal also hoped that the powerlifters will bring more accolades in the field of sports to the nation in the days to come.