Meghalaya News


9 MLAs likely to take resignation route to NPP

Shillong, Nov 13: Nine MLAs, including two independent members of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, who are reportedly joining the National People’s Party (NPP) are expected to resign before the last Assembly session scheduled in December.
The seven MLAs who are joining the NPP include former Deputy Chief Minister Rowell Lyngdoh from Mawkyrwat, former Ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar, Congress legislator from Umroi Ngaitlang Dhar and UDP legislator from Mawkynrew Remington Pyngrope, besides two independents MLAs – Stephanson Mukhim from Amlarem and Saipung Hopeful Bamon from Sutnga.
However, there is some uncertainty over the names of two others MLAs. Sources who informed this correspondent about the resignation of the seven legislators did not divulge the names of the duo and their identities are still under wraps.
Sources in the NPP said that the two had already sent their feelers to the party’s leadership.
The sources recently had said that the nine MLAs will resign either in the last week of November or in the first week of December. The legislators are expected to resign together on the same day.
Apart from these nine legislators, suspended Congress MLA and Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council Chief Executive Member Pynshngain N Syiem is also set to leave the party.
Syiem is expected to lead the newly-formed People’s Democratic Front. Although it is publicly known that he is joining the party, but the timing is still not known.