Breaking News

Bodo and Adivasi organizations committed to restoring peace

From our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, January 8: A meeting of Bodo tiol Conference (BNC) and Adivasi organizations was held on Thursday at the BTC Secretariat conference hall with a view to bring back peace and normalcy in the region.

 As many as 40 organizations from BNC and Adivasi tiol Convention took part in the meeting organized by the BNC. The meeting was chaired by the general secretary of BNC, Kampa Borgoyary, who is also the Deputy Chief of BTC. The meeting condemned the recent carge of innocent Adivasi people by the NDFB (S) in Kokrajhar and Sonitpur.

Talking to media persons after the meeting, Kampa Borgoyary strongly condemned the 23/12 carge. He said the 40 organizations under BNC and Adivasi tiol Convention (ANC) sat together with a view to bring back peace and normalcy and to remove misunderstanding. He said the organizations would soon visit the relief camps in Kokrajhar and Chirang to appeal them to the people to re–establish peace in the region.

Borgoyary said it was unfortute that the Government of Assam had failed to foil the subversive attempt of the NDFB (S) despite having prior input. He said the Government of Assam was equally responsible for the dastardly act on humanity. He also said the government should provide security to the affected people to return home.

Echoing the same, the president of AASAA, Raphael Kujur said the government should act tough against the militant groups who were involved in anti–people activities. He also said the government must ensure safety and security to the common people.

Chairman of Birsa Commando Force, Durga Hasda said they had lost faith in the police and so the government should set up security pickets of the army. He demanded permanent army pickets in sensitive zones. He questioned as to why the Adivasis were become a soft target for militant groups. He also demanded that the government should accord ST status for the community. The meeting was also attended by secretary of the BNC, Anjali Daimary, MLA Pradip Kr. Brahma, EMs Derhasat Basumatary Sobharam Basumatary, MCLA Doneswar Goyary, general secretary of AATS Aditya Khaklary and others.

About the author

Ankur Kalita

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Click Here To Play