Breaking News

Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Baroda, Andhra, Hyderabad win

Ranji Trophy

New Delhi, Jan 8: Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Baroda, Andhra and Hyderabad registered victories in the Ranji Trophy encounters on Thursday.

Rajasthan beat Punjab by nine wickets, thanks to pacers Pankaj Singh (four for 57) and Aniket Choudhary (four for 52), who helped the hosts dismiss the visitors for 247 in the second innings at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

Rajasthan lost opener Pray Sharma (33) before Vineet Saxe (not out 27) and Robin Bist (not out 22) easily chased down the 89–run target.

At the Akhilesh Das Stadium in Lucknow, Baroda thrashed Uttar Pradesh as spinner Swapnil Singh (six for 91) helped the visitors bowl the hosts out for 307. Baroda openers didn’t find any problem in chasing the 33–run target.

Maharashtra annihilated Saurashtra by an innings and 48 runs in Rajkot. Spinner Akshay Darekar took seven for 72 as the hosts were bowled out for 198 in the second innings. They scored 273 in the first innings in reply to Maharashtra’s mammoth first innings score of 519.

At the Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium in Agartala, Hyderabad beat Tripura by nine wickets, while Andhra defeated Jharkhand by nine wickets at the PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex in Viziagaram.

Brief Scores:

At Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh vs Baroda, Baroda 1st innings 498, Uttar Pradesh 1st innings 223, 2nd innings 307 (Umang Sharma 62, Piyush Chawla 67; Swapnil Singh 6/91) Baroda 2nd innings 33 for no loss. Baroda won by 10 wickets.

At Viziagaram, Andhra vs Jharkhand, Jharkhand 1st innings 246, Andhra 1st innings 304, Jharkand 2nd innings 104 (PR Munda 29; Cheepurapalli Stephen 6/32) Andhra 2nd innings 47 for 1. Andhra won by nine wickets.

At Kolkata, Bengal vs Tamil du, Tamil du 1st innings 246, Bengal 1st innings 454 for 9 declared, Tamil du 2nd innings 327 for five (Dinesh Karthik 103, Baba Aparajith 68; Ashok Dinda 2/81). Match drawn.

At Rohtak, Harya vs Delhi, Delhi 1st innings 278, Harya 1st innings 188, Delhi 2nd innings 134 for five. Match drawn.

At Dharamsala, Kerala vs Himachal Pradesh, Kerala 1st innings 196, Himachal Pradesh 1st innings 517, Kerala 2nd innings 252 for eight (Rohan Prem 101; Bipul Sharma 2/36). Match drawn.

At Mumbai, Mumbai vs Madhya Pradesh, Mumbai 1st innings 404, Madhya Pradesh 1st innings 538 for seven, Mumbai 2nd innings 311 for four (Shreyas Iyer 142; P.M. Datey 3/43). Match drawn.

At Sambalpur, Odisha vs Vidarbha, Vidarbha 1st innings 240, Odisha 1st innings 137 for nine declared, Vidarbha 2nd innings 165 for two declared (Ganesh Satish 54 not out), Odisha 2nd innings 117 for six). Match drawn.

At Jaipur, Rajasthan vs Punjab, Rajasthan 1st innings 433, Punjab 1st innings 274, Punjab 2nd innings 247 (G. Khera 42; Pankaj Singh 4/57, A. Choudhury 4/52) Rajasthan 2nd innings 93 for one (P.I. Sharma 33) Rajasthan won by 9 wickets.

At Rajkot, Saurashtra vs Maharastra, Maharastra 1st innings 519, Saurashtra 1st innings 273, Saurashtra 2nd innings following on 198 (Arpit Vasavada 76; Akshay Darekar 7/72) Maharastra won by an innings and 48 runs.

At Agartala, Tripura vs Hyderabad, Tripura 1st innings 184, Hyderabad 1st innings 491 for nine declared, Tripura 2nd innings 351 (Udiyan Bose 63, Rakesh Solanki 85; Chama Milind 4/83) Hyderabad 2nd innings 48 for 1. Hyderabad won by 9 wickets. IANS

About the author

Ankur Kalita

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Click Here To Play