Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

1,25,155 D voters in State: Mahanta

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 Sep 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Sept 4: The Election Commission (EC) of India still doubts the tiolity of 1,25,155 voters in Assam and has tagged them as ‘D voters’.

On behalf of the Minister for Election Department in the State, State Water Resource Minister Keshab Mahanta informed the Assam Assembly on this on Monday when the September session of the Assam Assembly began.

Mahanta said that the concept of doubtful voters had been first introduced in Assam by the Election Commission of India in 1997. “Earlier there were as many as 24,41,444 voters in the State. However, 17,498 of them were declared foreigners and 65,160 were declared Indians by various foreigner tribuls of the State. As many as 1,25,155 of the doubtful voters are still to get rid of the tag ‘D’,” Mahanta said.

Giving district-wise details of ‘D’ voters in the State, Mahanta said: “Barpeta tops the list of districts in so far as the presence of D voters is concerned. It has as many as 20,595 D voters. It is followed by Sonitpur district with 17526 D voters. While Sivasagar has the distinction of not having a single D voter, Charaideo has only 1 D voter and Dima Hasao has only five. While Karimganj has 2232 D voters, Hailakandi has 47, as many as 5307 in Cachar, 1014 in Karbi Anglong, 13 in West Karbi Anglong, 1306 in South Salmara, 9872 in Dhubri, 581 in Kokrajhar, 456 in Chirang, 1029 in Bongaigaon, 8903 in Goalpara, 1612 in Kamrup, 4494 in Kamrup Metro, 592 in lbari, 2729 in Baksa, 4801 in Darrang, 9171 in Udalguri, 3828 in Biswath, 4821 in Morigaon, 11566 in gaon, 2573 in Hojai, 2059 in Golaghat, ten in Jorhat, 11 in Majuli, 1912 in Lakhimpur, 3208 in Dhemaji, 809 in Dibrugarh and 1800 in Tinsukia.”

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News