Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Guwahati, Jorhat, Tezpur, Sadia in seismically most active zone

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  1 Aug 2017 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter
GUWAHATI, July 31: Guwahati and three other towns of Assam, and one each from Manipur, galand and Sikkim are in seismic Zone V. Bureau of Indian Standard (BIS) considers seismic Zone V as the most seismically active region.
The Ministry of Earth Science made this information public recently based on tiol Centre for Seismology (NCS) report. According to the report, Guwahati, Jorhat, Sadia and Tezpur, Kohima, Gangtok and Imphal fall very much under the most sensitive seismic zone.
Based on the past seismic history, the country has been grouped into four seismic zones – Zone-II, -III, -IV and –V. Of these, Zone V is the most seismically active region, while zone II is the least. Broadly, Zone-V comprises of the entire northeastern India, parts of Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, parts of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar Islands. Zone-IV covers remaining parts of Jammu & Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, Union Territory of Delhi, Sikkim, northern parts of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan. Zone-III comprises of Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep islands, remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil du and Kartaka. Zone-II covers remaining parts of the country.
tiol Centre for Seismology (NCS) maintains a country-wide seismological network to detect and locate earthquakes occurring in and around the country. The network consists of state-of-art digital broadband seismographs, VSAT-based communication systems and latest tools for dissemition of earthquake information to the concern disaster magement authorities and other user agencies in least possible time. The network also includes a 17-station real time seismic monitoring system to monitor and report large magnitude earthquakes capable of generating tsumis on the Indian coastal regions. A tsumi early warning system is also in place at Indian tiol Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS), Hyderabad to provide early warning on tsumis likely to be generated on the Indian Coastal areas by large magnitude under sea earthquakes.
The NSN now consists of 84 state-of-art digital broadband seismograph stations with VSAT commutations facilities for real time monitoring and auto location of earthquakes in and around the tion.
Since earthquake is a tural phenomenon that cannot be prevented, what are imperative on the part of the State Government and people are precautiory measures to control or minimize damage.

Next Story