Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Notification issued for Panchayati Raj polls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 July 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, July 11: The Assam State Election Commission has notified Panchayati Raj bodies bye-election in pursuant to reports received from the concerned DC and SDO(C) and pursuant to orders of the Gauhati High Court in some panchayat areas. The casual vacancies of Panchayati Raj bodies for which bye-electio are set to be held are (1) president of Goraibari Gaon Panchayat in Morigaon district, (2) president of 67 Binkandi Gaon Panchayat, (3) president of 51 Panibhora Gaon Panchayat, (4) president of 21 Kachudaram Gaon Panchayat, (5) president of 58 Bhagadhar Borjurai Gaon Panchayat – serial number (2) to (5), all in Cachar district, (6) Anchalik Panchayat Member of 23 Fulerchar Gaon Panchayat in South Salmara district, (7) president of 66 Pachim Udali Gaon Panchayat in Hojai district, (8) president of Dhaigaon Gaon Panchayat in Goalpara district, (9) president of Kokila Gaon Panchayat in North Salmara Civil Sub-Division in Bongaigaon District. The Schedule of election has been notified as last date for filing nomition papers- is 1July 8, 2016 (between 11 am and 3 pm) (nomition may be filed on any day except public holiday, scrutiny of nomition papers on July 19, 2016 (between 11 am and 3 pm, publication of list of validly nomited candidates on July 19, 2016, last date for withdrawal of candidature is on July 21, 2016 (between 11 am- 3 pm, publication of list of contesting candidates on July 21, 2016, poll on August 8, 2016 (from 8 am to 4 pm, re-poll (if any) on August 9, 2016 and counting of votes on August 10, 2016.

Next Story