Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Science City Project going on, 23 district science centres to come up

Science City Project going on, 23 district science centres to come up

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  30 March 2018 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, March 29: With funds being pumped in, the work of the Rs 110-crore Science City Project at Sopur on the outskirts of Guwahati is going on smoothly. While the works of three planetariums in the State are at their fil stages, the government has decided to set up 23 district science centres in the State.

All these facts came to light on the floor of the State Assembly on Thursday from the revelations made by State Science and Information Technology Minister Keshab Mahanta. The minister revealed all these while replying to a question from AIUDF MLA Aminul Islam.

According to the information revealed by the minister, the State Government has already released its share of Rs 11 crore for the Science City Project. While Rs 3.17 crore has been paid for land acquisition, Rs 33.45 lakh has been paid to the APDCL for power connection that has already been done, Rs 6.055 crore has been approved for the approach road for which the State PWD is bidding, Rs 1 crore has been paid to landowners for the approach road, Rs 3.85 crore has been approved for fencing work and deep tube wells have been laid for water supply costing around Rs 80 lakh. The tiol Council of Science Museum (NCSM), according to the minister, has already handed over the map of the Science City Project to the State Government.

In accordance with a decision taken in 2017, the Department is going to set up as many as 23 district science centres for which land acquisition works have been completed in six districts – Hojai, Goalpara, Charaideo, Dibrugarh, Dhubri and Hailakandi. The 17 other district science centres are being set up in Baksa, Chirang, Dakshin Salmara, West Karbi Anglong, Dima Hasao, Sivasagar, Tinsukia, Dhemaji, Darrang, Biswath, gaon, Morigaon, Udalguri, Golaghat, Barpeta and Sonitpur.

The information given by the minister has further revealed that three planetariums-cum-science centres, one each at Kokrajhar, North Lakhimpur and lbari, are at their fil stages. The land acquisition of six other planetariums – one each at Amingaon, Kaliabor, Diphu, Bongaigaon, Silchar and Majuli – has been over and the process of tender is going on.

Next Story