British Prime Minister Boris Johnson suffers setback in Parliament

LONDON: British Prime Minister Boris Johnson on Saturday suffered a setback in Parliament after MPs voted for an amendment to defer a decision on his Brexit deal with the European Union.

The MPs voted through the Letwin amendment to delay Brexit until necessary UK legislation is passed, the BBC reported.

Johnson, who opened the debate soon after Parliament sat for discussion on his Brexit deal saying his deal with the EU can “heal the country”, had to deal with disappointment. The British Parliament sat for the first time in 37 years on Saturday to take up Johnson’s Brexit deal agreed with the EU. There were loud cheers at the People’s Vote rally in Parliament Square as the Letwin amendment was passed in the House of Commons.

The latest development implies that Parliament will not vote on Johnson’s deal until next week.

The division list for the Letwin amendment shows 231 Labour MPs voted for it alongside the 10 Democratic Unionist Party MPs. They were joined by 19 Liberal Democrats, 35 Scottish National Party members, 17 Independents, four Plaid Cymru, five Independent Group for Change and the Green Party MP Caroline Lucas.

On the other hand, 283 Conservative MPs voted against the Letwin amendment along with six Labour MPs.

The six Labour MPs who rebelled to oppose the Letwin amendment were — Kevin Barron (Rother Valley), Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley), Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar and Limehouse), Caroline Flint (Don Valley), Kate Hoey (Vauxhall), and John Mann (Bassetlaw).  (IANS)

Also Watch: BJP organized Gandhi Sankalpa Zatra in Dhemaji’s Silapathar


Recent Posts

Unidentified body recovered in the city

STAFF REPORTER GUWAHATI, Nov 20: An unknown dead body of a male about 25 years of age, was recovered from… Read More

2 mins ago

TET teachers meet Bhattacharya to regularize teaching jobs

STAFF REPORTER GUWAHATI: With the demand to regularize their jobs, the All Assam Primary TET Passed Teachers’ Union sat for… Read More

7 mins ago

Holiday Pradesh

The Sarbananda Sonowal government’s cabinet on Tuesday approved the holiday list for Assam for the calendar year 2020. It comprises… Read More

17 mins ago

CM Sarbananda Sonowal takes stock of various activities in Goalpara

GUWAHATI: Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal on Wednesday visited the Badungduppa Kala Kendra which was established by eminent dramatist of the… Read More

23 mins ago

US panel faults NRC on ‘religious freedom’

Arul Louis (The author can be contacted at and followed on Twitter @arulouis) AUS government commission has called… Read More

26 mins ago

ABMSU, Kokrajhar slams new NRC Coordinator for ‘controversial’ remarks

Our Correspondent Kokrajhar: The All Bodoland Minority Students’ Union (ABMSU), Kokrajhar, Gossaigaon and Porbhotjhora district committees on Wednesday slammed the… Read More

29 mins ago