Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Centre releases pending installments to three NE States

Centre releases pending installments to three NE States

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 March 2020 7:07 AM GMT

NEW DELHI: The Centre has released the pending installment of the grants to six State governments including Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, and Nagaland in Northeast under the 14th Finance Commission that was withheld as local elections had not been taken place in these territories, Finance Minister’s office said.

The move was required in order to ensure that the basic services provided by local bodies are not affected.

“Due to COVID-19, the local bodies have to especially focus on providing basic civic services and ensure cleanliness. The amounts to Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Tamil Nadu have been released for urban and rural local bodies wherever applicable,” Sitharaman Office tweeted. “The amount released totals Rs 2,570.0813 crore, with Rs 940.8063 crore for rural local bodies and Rs 1,629.275 crore for urban local bodies. The amounts have already been credited to the accounts of the respective State governments,” the tweet on ‘India Fights Corona’ added.

Also Read: Advance Tax for FY 2019-20 in the seven NE States has been extended to December 31, 2019

Also Watch: Fear of Coronavirus has decreased Market sales in Guwahati.

Next Story