Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

6th biennial conference of Udalguri district Jourlists' Union held

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Aug 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

UDALGURI, August 9: The 6th biennial conference of Udalguri district Jourlists’ Union was held at Udalguri Press Club with a day-long programme on Sunday.

The programme began with the hoisting of flag by Dhiren Baishya, the president of Udalguri district Jourlists’ Union, followed by smriti tarpan to martyr Kamala Saikia by Pradip Kumar Talukdar, the president of Udalguri Press Club, and homage paid to Dr APJ Abdul Kalam by Atul Chandra th. The Kamala Saikia Memorial Lecture was delivered by Gautamjyoti Talukdar, senior jourlist of Udalguri and Jayanta Das, also a jourlist of the district. During the session a new committee of Jourlists’ Union was formed with Jayanta Kumar Das as president and Dilip Baruah as general secretary.

The meeting was presided over by Dhiren Baishya and conducted by rayan Deka, the general secretary of Udalguri district Jourlists’ Union. Baidyath Upadhyaya was felicitated by the union for receiving the tiol Hindi Award from the Government of India. A painting competition was also held among school children and the Hem Chandra Talukdar Memorial Jourlism award was also conferred to Bapan Sarmah. The award was given away by Gautam Jyoti Talukdar in memory of his father.

Next Story