Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Belgium's squad announced for Euro

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Brussels, May 13: Belgium football team’s head coach Marc Wilmots has announced the squad for this summer’s Euro 2016 in France.

The roster on Thursday included 24 players and one player will be ruled out before the announcement of the fil 23-player squad.

The squad did not mark any surprises except ruling out Manchester City’s captain Vincent Kompany due to injury.

During a press conference on Thursday, Wilmots announced that Galatasary youngster Jason Deyer will be replacing Kompany to compensate for his efforts at the back.

Belgium will be playing Euro 2016 in the group of death, Group E, along with Italy, the Republic of Ireland and Sweden.

The squad: Goalkeeping: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Jean-Francois Gillett (Mechelen) and Simon Mignolet (Liverpool).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Jason Deyer (Galatasaray), Bjorn Engels (Club Bruges), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St Petersburg), Jordan Lukaku (Oostende), Thomas Meunier (Club Bruges), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelo) and Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Moussa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Radja inggolan (AS Roma) and Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg).

Forwards: Michy Batshauyi (Olympique Marseille), Christian Benteke (Liverpool), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Dries Mertens (poli) and Divock Origi (Liverpool). IANS

Next Story