Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Bihar to compete in 2018-19 Ranji season

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 April 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Kolkata, April 17: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday announced that its Technical Committee has unanimously approved the inclusion of Bihar in the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season.

The Sourav Ganguly-led technical committee decided to adhere to the recommendation of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) and decided to reinstate Bihar in next year's Ranji Trophy.

"However, the committee felt in the view of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India's judgment dated July 18, 2016, the North Eastern associates and affiliate members must also be considered," a statement read.

The recommendations of the Technical Committee will be sent to the CoA and then ratified by the BCCI general body.

If Bihar is included, the upcoming Ranji season will have 29 teams. The Bihar Cricket Association was suspended in 2004. Bihar also suffered due to various factions claiming that their association is the recognised one.

Meanwhile, the BCCI also declared that the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season proposes to have four groups with the introduction of pre-quarterfinals. The format will remain as the Home-Away basis.

The Deodhar Trophy is proposed to have four teams, one each from the four Ranji Trophy groups. It was also proposed that the sequence of the BCCI 2018-19 domestic season will be in the following order -- Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Ranji Trophy League phase, Mushtaq Ali T20, Ranji Trophy knockouts, Deodhar Trophy. IANS

Next Story