Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP & Congress release first list of candidates for Tripura Assembly polls

BJP & Congress release first list of candidates for Tripura Assembly polls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 Jan 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Saffron party to contest 51 seats

From a correspondent

Agartala, Jan 28: The BJP released its first list of candidates for 44 of the 60 seats in Tripura Assembly on Saturday, polls for which will be held on February 18. While the Bharatiya Jata Party (BJP) will contest 51 seats, the remaining nine seats will be contested by tribal-run Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), with which the BJP formally announced its alliance on Thursday.

In the first phase the party has released 44 mes and said the remaining seven will be announced shortly.

According to the BJP leaders, the mes of party candidates were filised and announced after the party’s Central Election Committee met in New Delhi under the chairmanship of BJP president Amit Shah.

Prime Minister rendra Modi, Union Home Minister Rajth Singh, Fince Minister Arun Jaitley, Exterl Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and other CEC members also attended the meeting.

The BJP med state unit president Biplab Kumar Deb from Bamalipur, state unit vice-president Subal Bhowmik from Somura, state election media coorditor Sushanta Chowdhury from Majlishpur, state unit general secretary Pratima Bhowmik from Dhanpur, and state unit Secretary Amit Rakhsit from Khowai.

Deb said only effective and people with clean image have been given nomition, while an attempt has been made to give appropriate representation to all section of the people. The list was prepared in consultation with party general secretary Ram Madhab and election in-charge for Tripura and Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sharma.

The party also fielded seven sitting MLAs — Sudip Roy Barman from Agartala, Ratan Lal th from Mohanpur, Ashish Kumar Saha from Town Bordowali, Dilip Sarkar from Badharghat (Reserved for Scheduled Caste), Prajit Singha Roy from Radhakishorepur, Dibachandra Hrangkhwal from Karamchhara (Scheduled Tribe), and Bishwa Bandhu Sen from Dharmagar.

Union Minister and secretary of the BJP parliamentary board J P dda, in a press conference at the party head quarter in Delhi, released the list in presence of state president Biplab Deb and party provari Sunil Deodhar.

dda said eleven persons belonging to Scheduled Cast community have been given nomition though number of SC reserve seats in the State is only ten. Four women candidates have also been included in the list.

Next Story