Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BPF is a sinking boat: Rabiram rzary

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, March 23: On the first day of the submission of nomition papers for the third BTC elections to be held on April 8, three candidates from People’s Coordition for Democratic Rights (PCDR) in Kokrajhar and three candidates from Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) in Chirang district filed their nomition papers on Monday.

In Kokrajhar, the president of Bodoland People’s Progressive Front (BPPF) and present MCLA from Porbotjhora, Rabiram rzary, who is candidate of PCDR, submitted his nomition papers for No 9 Bargaon ST constituency in presence of former Rajya Sabha MP UG Brahma and other leaders. Two more candidates from PCDR, Hitesh Mashahary and Budhadev Mashahary also field their nomition papers along with rzary for No 12 Salakati ST and No 10 Debargaon ST constituency respectively. PCDR candidate Budhadev Mashahary, supported by the ABSU and five other organizations, is now contesting against BPF president Hagrama Mohilary.

Talking to media persons after submitting the nomition papers, BPPF president Rabiram rzary said the masses had come forward to stand against the ruling party for indulging in corruption, domition and lawlessness in BTC. He said the democratic norms had been badly affected for the last 10 years and now the people desired a change in the council to restore democracy and bring in corruption-free governce. He also said that the PCDR had been receiving enormous public support and their victory was beyond doubt.

rzary said many senior BPF leaders like Parmeswar Brahma, Maloti Rani rzary, Mono Kr. Brahma, Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, Bonomali Boro and others have deserted the party which proved the interl scuffle and lack of discipline in the BPF. He said people of the region had seen commul violence at least four times during the past 10 years. He added, “Now the BPF is a sinking boat.”

PCDR candidates Budhadev Mashahary for Debargaon and Hitesh Mashahary for Salakati constituencies said they came forward to fight in the election under public pressure as the voters desired change in the region due to rampant corruption and nepotism in the council. Both of them said their victory were imminent as people from all sections had come forward to support them.

Next Story