Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Brisk preparations for smooth conduct of BTC elections in Gossaigaon

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

Gossaigaon, March 27: Brisk preparations are on for the smooth conduct of BTC elections to the six constituencies under Gossaigaon sub division.

The No.2 Guma constituency has 50,002 voters, No.3 Srirampur has 39051 voters, No.4 Jamduar has 43,875 voters, No.5 Saraibil has 51,683 voters, No.6 Kachugaon has 51,457 voters and No.8 Dotma has 45,566 voters.

The sub-division has been divided into 14 zones and 43 sectors. Zol officers and sector officers have been physically verifying the conditions of the polling stations and accordingly have organized transportation to ferry polling personnel to and from the polling stations.

Repair of some polling stations is also been carried out.

Of the total of 371 polling stations, 77 have been identified as safe, 203 sensitive and 91 very sensitive.

Elaborate security arrangements are in place to ensure that voting takes place peacefully and as per schedule. The sub-divisiol administration has constituted altogether 20 cells, each under an officer in-charge, to ensure smooth conduct of the polls.

A control room with No.03669-220502 is functioning round the clock.

Altogether 49 nomitions have been received for the elections to the six BTC constituencies in the sub division. After scrutiny, the nomition papers of Manoj Kumar Sarania of 6-Saraibil and Kailash Das of 8-Dotma have been rejected.

The Assam State Election Commission has nomited Sheia Rahman and Manoranjan Dutta as BTC Election Observer for the sub division. They have already arrived in Gossaigaon.

The sub-divisiol administration has appealed to all candidates, political parties, organizations and the public at large to help conduct the elections to the six BTC constituencies under it peacefully and in a befitting manner.

Next Story