Cabinet Ministers to review flagship programmes

A Correspondent
SHILLONG, May 17: Every Minister in Conrad K Samgma’s Cabinet has been allotted a district to undertake a systematic and periodic review of the implementation of various flagship programmes in the state.

The flagship programmes to be reviewed are, Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana, National Social Assistance Programme, Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan, Mid Day Meal programme, Integrated Child Development Scheme, National Health Mission, National Rural Drinking Water Programme, Total Sanitation Campaign/ Swach Bharat Mission, Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana, Accelerated Irrigation Benefit Programme/ Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana and Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana.
The allocation of a district to every Cabinet Minister, which was notified by the Governor Ganga Prasad also states that each Minister will undertake a quarterly review of the mentioned flagship programmes.

The liaison officers of the Directorate of Programme Implementation and Evaluation Department will coordinate with the Deputy Commissioners of the assigned districts and fix dates, in consultation with the Ministers.
The decision to allot a district to every MDA Minister is in line with Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma’s assurance on the floor of the House that every Minister in his Cabinet will visit a district of the State every three months to review the various government schemes.

It may be mentioned that during the Budget Session of the Meghalaya Assembly, Conrad said that apart from holding review meetings, the Ministers would also hold public meetings to get a first hand information about the implementation of the schemes and accordingly, Chief Minister’s office will take a report from the Ministers about their visit.

Deputy Chief Minister Prestone Tynsong has been allotted East Khasi Hills district, Home Minister James K Sangma has been allotted West Khasi Hills district, AL Hek has been given North Garo Hills, Sniawbhalang Dhar to take care of Ri-Bhoi, Comingone Ymbon – South West Khasi Hills, Metbah Lyngdoh – South Garo Hills, Lahkmen Rymbui -West Garo Hills, Kyrmen Shylla -South West Garo Hills, Banteidor Lyngdoh – East Garo Hills, Hamletson Dohling – West Jaintia Hills, Samlin Malgniang – East Jaintia Hills.