Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Chidambaram, Sibal, Jairam Congress nominees for Rajya Sabha

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

New Delhi, May 28: The Congress on Saturday med former union ministers P. Chidambaram, Kapil Sibal, Jairam Ramesh, Ambika Soni and Oscar Ferndes as its candidates for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha.

The party’s list of eight candidates from seven states also included Pradeep Tamta, Vivek Tankha and Chhaya Verma.

A party release said that the mes had been filised by Congress president Sonia Gandhi and vice-president Rahul Gandhi in consultation with leaders from different states.

The party has nomited Chidambaram from Maharashtra after the party’s poor showing in the recent Tamil du assembly polls.

Ambika Soni has been retained from Punjab and Oscar Ferndes from Kartaka.

The party has also decided to send Ramesh to the upper house from Kartaka.

Tamta will be party nominee from Uttarakhand, Tankha from Madhya Pradesh and Verma from Chhattisgarh. (IANS)

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News