Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Chief Minister Ibobi distributes Manipur Sahitya Parishad awards

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Imphal, May 16: Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh with Member of Parliament Dr. Th. Meinya Singh on Sunday distributed the annual award of the Sahitya Parishad in Manipur to 29 eminent persons of the state and diasporas, for their contribution in the field of literature and art and culture of Manipur.

The award was distributed on the second day of its 81st Anniversary observation held at the Maharaj Chandrakriti Aiditorium, located at Manipur Palace Compound, Imphal East.

The function was graced by the Chief Minister as the chief guest, while Dr. Th. Meinya Singh, Retd. Professor Thoidingjam Tombi Singh, president Manipuri Sahitya Parishad, president the function as the Guest of Honour and President respectively.

Of the 29 awards 14 were for upadhi award, 8 cash awards and 7 gold medals.

Manipuri Sahitya Parishad with a host of pioneers has been contributing its best towards development and promotion of Manipuri language and culture since its inception in 1935.

With a view to developing and promoting Manipuri language, the Parishad has made relentless efforts for about 10 years in order to convince the authorities of the Calcutta University to recognize Manipuri as a subject in BA, which materialized in the year 1948.

It succeeded in getting the Manipuri language recognized by the Sahitya Parishad, New Delhi in the year 1972. The Parishad also played a key role in getting the language included in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution in the year 1992. The Parishad has been also relentlessly working for the promotion of Manipuri language and also have expanded its branches in and outside the State of Manipur, for development of Manipuri. (ANI)

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News