Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Congress, BJP win two J&K legislative council seats

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 April 2017 12:00 AM GMT

Jammu, April 17: The Congress and Bharatiya Jata Party (BJP) candidates on Monday won the two Jammu and Kashmir legislative council seats, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate lost in a surprise development.

Balbir Singh of the Congress won the council seat polling 31 votes. He was supported by the tiol Conference. He polled 12 votes of the Congress, 15 of the tiol Conference (NC) and four votes of Independent legislators.

BJP candidate Vikram Randhawa and PDP candidate Abdul Qayoom Dar polled 29 votes each.

As per the laid down procedure after the BJP and the PDP candidate were tied at 29 each, the winner was decided by draw of lots, in which BJP’s Vikram Randhawa won.

The electoral college for the state legislative council, which is the upper house of Jammu and Kahmir’s bicameral legislature, comprises members of the state legislative assembly, which has 87 elected members and two nomited members, all of whom are eligible to vote in these elections. An official announcement about the result is expected shortly in Jammu where votes were cast and counted in the council election on Monday. (IANS)

Next Story