Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Congress sieves candidates' list, in quandary over deserters' seats

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 Jan 2018 12:00 AM GMT


SHILLONG, Jan 23: Lok Sabha MP from Shillong and member of the Pradesh election committee, Vincent H Pala, today said that the Congress was yet to find replacements in certain constituencies where its sittings legislators abandoned the party.

Pala pointed out that in Pynthorumkhrah and Raliang the party was yet to find suitable replacements for legislators who left the party.

It may be mentioned that AL Hek was the sitting Congress legislator who left the party to join the BJP while Comingone Ymbon legislator from Raliang shifted allegiance to the tiol People’s Party (NPP). “In Pynthorumkhrah we have two-three candidates who applied but it is still open. I hope we get the best,” Pala said.

He also pointed out that in South Shillong and North Shillong constituencies applications for the seats are still open.

North Shillong is being represented by cabinet Minister Roshan Warjri but she had decided not to contest the 2018 polls. It may be mentioned that the North Shillong Block Congress had recommended the me of Humphrey Syngkon, but with former BJP man Keith Pariat now seeking ticket the party is still to decide whom to allot.

However, in Mawsynram which was represented by ex-Congress legislator PN Syiem, the party has already found replacement in former bureaucrat HM Shangpliang. Similarly in Pynursla Dr J Ryndong will replace Prestone Tynsong who shifted to the NPP, in rtiang another bureaucrat Jopthiaw Lyngdoh will replace Sniawbhalang Dhar and in Umroi George B Lyngdoh an engineering graduate is the Congress’ replacement for former legislator Ngaitlang Dhar who left the party for the NPP.

Meanwhile, Pala also informed that the Pradesh Election Committee meeting held at the residence of Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma screened 90 applicants for the 60 seats and found all of them in order.

He also said that the five independent legislators who are supposed to join the Congress said that their mes too were included.

Meanwhile, Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee chief Dr Celestine Lyngdoh said, “They (the five independent MLAs) will resign in due course of time. Before we formally declare them we will do the needful.”

Pala also informed that the mes of the 90 applicants will be taken to Delhi by the AICC observers.

He further pointed out that a screening committee has been formed in New Delhi and Oscar Ferndes is its chairman.

“After filizing this list today it will be forwarded to the AICC. MPCC president Celestine Lyngdoh and CLP leader will be called to Delhi for formally announce the mes,” he said.

Pala added that the AICC will clear the list of candidates within January 31.

Next Story