Former Congress Minister Pradyut Bordoloi lost supremacy over Margherita LAC

Guwahati: Influential leader and former Congress Minister Pradyut Bordoloi lost his supremacy from 124 No Margherita Legislative Assembly in the Panchayat Elections 2018, claims a report.

As per reports, out of 18 Gaon Panchayat and 4 Zila Parishad, 14 Gaon Panchayat were under Congress and 4 were under BJP party, however, 4 seats of Zila Parishad were in the hands of Congress party earlier.

However, as per latest information, out of 18 gaon panchayat in Margherita sub-division, 15 seats were conquered by BJP and 3 by Congress. Also, 4 Zila Parishad seats were conquered by BJP party today after the declaration of the final results.

The matter of fact is that after losing the Assembly elections in the year 2014, former Congress minister himself campaigned extensively this year in order to fight back in the Panchayat elections.

Similarly, after winning the Assembly elections 2014, MLA Bhaskar Sharma launched a marathon campaign for the Panchayat Elections 2018.

It may also be mentioned that Chief Minister, Sarbananda Sonowal also campaigned in several parts of the state during the Panchayat Elections.

Although, several seats for Anchalik Panchayat Members, Zila Parishad Members and Ward Members won by Congress in the Panchayat elections, however, BJP dominated the Panchayat elections this year.

In Sonitpur, out of 19 Zila Parishad, BJP conquered at least 16 seats for Zila Parishad seats in the Panchayat elections.

Also, in Dibrugarh, the reports states that out of 23 Zila Parishad seats, BJP wins 20 seats, Congress 3, for GP ward members BJP managed to conquer 573 seats out of 930, Congress 255, AGP 97, for GP President BJP managed 74 seats out of 93 seats, Congress 16, AGP 3, for Anchalik Panchayat members BJP conquered 68 seats out of 93 seats, Congress 21 and AGP 4.