Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Geetanjali Baruah Mili Award conferred

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  30 April 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

GAURISAGAR, April 29: Former Axam Xahitya Xabha (AXX) president Imran Shah conferred the Geetanjali Baruah Mili award to budding poet and writer Krishore Monjit Borah at a function held at Dikhowmukh Thekeratal recently.

Conferring the award, the former AXX president said that an award inspired a creative writer to create good literature. Krishore Monjit Borah’s literary style was strong and had potential, he added.

The function was organized by Sivasagar Zila Xahitya Xabha in association with Geetanjali Baruah Mili Memorial Trust. The day-long programme started with hoisting of flag by Sabharam Bharali, president of Dikhowmukh Sakha Xahitya Xabha. The meeting was conducted by Khagen Baruah, educationist and vice-president, Sivasagar Zila Xahitya Xabha.

The Sivasagar Zila Xahitya Xabha has introduced the Geetanjali Baruah Mili Award for the first time. Geetanjali Baruah was the daughter of Tirtha th Baruah, former Principal of Ghilamora HS School and the wife of Dharma Kanta Mili, ADC, Dhemaji district and a resident of Dikhowmukh Thekeratol. Every two years the Sivasagar Zila Xahitya Xabha will confer this award to budding writers under 40 years. The award carries a citation, memento, a packet of books and Rs 25,000 in cash.

Krishore Monjit Borah, a postgraduate in Assamese from Dibrugarh University, was born in 1985 in Magarahat in Sivasagar district. Hridoy Ekhan Mahakavya, his first novel was published serially in Prantik. Mati Gukhani and Buddhak Bichara Rati are his books of poetry. He has already composed another poetry book Angaliburror majate Ghahani ekhan Palo.

Receiving the literary award, Borah expressed his gratitude to the Trust and the Sivasagar Zila Xahitya Xabha and said that it would inspire him to write more books in future. Earlier Dharma Kanta Mili gave the welcome speech while Bubul Dutta, secretary of Dikhowmukh Sakha Xahitya Xabha explained the objective. The dignitaries who attended the function included Tirtha Baruah,Rati Prabha Gogoi, executive member of AXX, Mukut Borgohain, Dr Jibon Kalita, Binuwa Taye, Hemeswar Pegu, vice-president of Mising Autonomus Council (MAC), Moneswar Mili, member of MAC, Dikhow-Desseng constituency.

Next Story