Gohpur people ready to welcome bhakat-vaishvs

From a Correspondent

Biswath Chariali, Feb 2: Alongside the preparations for the 86th session of Srimanta Shankerdeva Sangha to be held from February 4 to February 7 at Ramanda Samany Kshetra at Gopalpur, near Gohpur in Biswath district, the executive body of the Sangha announced the programmes for the session.

The session will commence on February 4 with cleaning, morning prayer and am-prasanga. It will be followed by plantation by Rajen Choudhury, DFO, East Sonitpur Forest Division at 8 am, iuguration of the main pandal by Asitaksha Chakravarty, DC of Biswath at 8.30 am, iuguration of the main gate and amghar by Pramod Borthakur, MLA of Biswath LAC at 9 am, iuguration of exhibition and book fair by State Minister Ranjit Dutta at 9.30 am, executive body meet at 10 am, meeting of the district presidents and secretaries at 11.30 am and literary session at 1 pm to be chaired by Dr Jagat Chandra Kalita.

Litterateurs Dr Lakshmindan Borah, Dr gen Saikia, Jn Pujari, Anuradha Sharma Pujari, State Minister Keshav Mahanta, State Election Commissioner Harendra th Borah, eminent scribe Haidar Hussein, president of Shankerdev Foundation, Bangladesh, Subodh Chandra Das, Dr Ashok Goswami, Dr Dayanda Pathak, Dr Maheswar Hazarika and Dr Pradeep Sharma will take part in the literary session. The delegate session will be iugurated by the Sangha’s general secretary Babul Borah at 5 pm with Bhabendra th Deka, Padadhikar in the chair.

The second day’s programmes include meetings of Sharan Samiti, Thrift and Credit Cooperative Society, women’s group and cultural session. State ministers va Kumar Doley, Pramila Rani Brahma and Pallav Lochan Das, former Pro-VC of Tezpur University Dr Amarjyoti Choudhury, film maker Manju Borah, eminent scribe Ajit Kumar Bhuyan and Jni Yasavir Singh, the Chief Granthi of Sikhism will be present in the cultural session. The second delegate session will be held at 7 pm to be addressed by Utpal Borah, working president of the reception committee and MLA of Gohpur LAC.

The Dharmadwaja will be unfurled on the morning of the third day by Padadhikar Bhabendra th Deka followed by Bhagawat procession. The open session will start at 11 am. A good number of dignitaries including Chief Minister Sarvanda Sonowal, State Fince, Education and Health Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sharma, DoNER Minister Jitendra Singh, Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, Minister of State for Railways Rajen Gohain, and Vice-Chancellor of Mahapurush Srimanta Shankerdev University Dr Kandarpa Kumar Deka are likely to grace the occasion.

The concluding day’s main programmes include Antaranga Alap and Dharmalocha Sabha. Cultural nights and Ankiya Bhaos will be held in all the nights. The reception committee has sought public help and cooperation to make the event a grand success.