Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Gumrag dance contest ends, Charaideo bags first prize

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  31 Jan 2016 12:00 AM GMT


SIVASAGAR, Jan 30: The two-day All Assam Prize Money Gumrag dance competition concluded at tya Mandir on Friday.

Top honours in the competition went to teams from Charaideo, harani, Joi and Dibrugarh. The first position holder Charaideo team was awarded with Rs 1,00,000, the harani team got the second position and awarded with Rs 70,000, while the teams from Joi and Dibrugarh jointly got the third position and awarded with Rs 50,000.

Organized by the Mising Dirbi Kebang with an aim to preserve and promote Mising culture and emphasize its economical benefits for the society, more than 10 teams from across the State participated in the competition, which was iugurated by ONGC SCSTEWA president and NEST Foundation chairman Puram Mili on January 28. The opening day saw the presence of dignitaries like Mising Dirbi Kebang treasurer, ADC and EO Aswini Kr. Doley, MAC general member (Desang-Dikhow constituency) Moneswar Mili, president of Sivasagar District Mising Dirbe Kebang, Lalit Kuli, TMPK president Dipak Panging, president of Sivasagar District Mising Mime Kebang Nibha Pegu, vice-president of Mising Dirbi Kebang Pabitra Pegu, and others.

The concluding day witnessed an impressive performance of Gumrag dance by more than 300 artists at Boarding Field. In the evening, the prize distribution function presided over by Mising Dirbi Kebang central committee president Suruj Kumar Patiri, was held at tya Mandir where Additiol Deputy Commissioner, Sivasagar, Hem Kanta Pegu attended as chief guest and executive member of Mising Autonomous Council (Cultural Department) Prasanta Bori attended as distinguished guest.

To commemorate the occasion, a special edition of Dirbi, mouthpiece of Mising Dirbe Kebang, edited by Jitendra Mili, was also released by noted educationist hendra Padun and Rajat Kamal Award winner and noted actor Bishnu Khargharia. Earlier, Dembiram Panging, secretary of the reception committee delivered the welcome speech.

Next Story