Jigyashman,Bushan Win Titles at All India Tennis Association Super Series Tennis Championship,Guwahati


Our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, July 20: 5th seed Jigyashman Hazarika of Assam lifted the boys U-12 singles title in the OIL – AITA Super Series Tennis Championship which concluded at the Chachal tennis complex here today. In the final he defeated 2nd seed Harsh Fogaat of Delhi 6-3, 6-2. Manipur boy Bushan Haobam bagged the boys U-14 singles crown by defeating Yuvan Nandal of Haryana 6-2, 2-1. Nandal conceded the match. The U-14 boys doubles crown was lifted by Ayush P Bhat (KAR) and Anchit Gogoi (AS).

In the closing function AATA Secretary Ankush Dutta distributed the trophies and certificates along with Tournament Supervisor Surajit Bandyopadhyay.
It may be mentioned that the qualifying round matches of the next tournament for boys and girls 14 and 16 years age group will start from tomorrow.

RESULTS: Boys Singles U-12 Final: Jigyashman Hazarika (AS) def 2nd seed Harsh Fogaat (DL) 6-3, 6-2. (Upset). Boys Singles U-14 Final: Bushan Haobam (MN) def Yuvan Nandal (HR). 6-2, 2-1 (15-0). (Conceded). Girls Singles U-12 Final: Ira Shrenik Shah (GJ) def 5th seed Ridhi Choudhary Poka (TS). 6-2, 7-5. Girls Singles U-14 Final: Vaishnavi Adkar (MH) def 2nd seed Pari Singh (MH). 6-4, 6-1. Boys Doubles U-14 Final: Aayush Bhat (KA) / Anchit Gogoi (AS) def Bushan Haobam (MN) / Bhicky Sagolsem (MN) 1-6, 6-1,10-8.