Kevin Khyriem wins Milky Moo Shillong Open in dramatic style

Shillong, May 2: Kevin Khyriem scored his maiden victory on the Milky Moo Championship IGU East Zone Feeder & Sub Junior Tour as he clinched the Milky Moo Shillong Open here at the Par-70 Shillong Golf Club.
After yesterday’s washout, it all down to today’s round and Kevin did not disappoint his hopeful supporters as he carded 84 to edge out the trio of Subham Adak, city mate Lakshya Bajaj and Rakshik Basu by one stroke on a dramatic day of golf. Shillong Club Ltd. (Golf Section) hosted the event in collaboration with Meghalaya Golf Promoters’ Society (MGPS), who have been instrumental in getting the event in Shillong.
Kevin began his round with a bogey on the first hole and followed it up with two pars to take an early lead but Lakshya Bajaj joined him at the top after four holes. However the next few holes saw Rakshik Basu set the pace with some steady golf to take the turn leading by one over Lakshya and two over Kevin and Subham. The next three holes saw Rakshik in a clear lead of two strokes over Subham and Kevin saw himself trail by four with six holes to play. A string of pars brought the local lad back in contention with him tied with Rakshik and Lakshya with one to play. An assured bogey for Kevin against doubles for the co leaders gave him a dramatic win and condemned the chasing trio make up the rest of the podium places.
Subham took the second place with Lakshya the third place on countback but both of them went into a playoff with Rakshik for the Category B championship. Rakshik duly took claim of the same with Subham and Lakshya taking home the runners up and second runners up trophies.
Category C was won by Guwahati’s Maitreya Milan Saikia who scripted a one stroke win over local lad Mohit Balasubramaniam after carding an 83. Ahaan Gupta was placed third a further four strokes behind on countback over Rishi Biswas.
Bengdubi’s Ribhav Verma continued his golden rush with a comprehensive ten stroke win over Aditya Khaitan after carding the day’s best round of 77. Aashrut Almal was third a further three strokes behind at 90 to round the podium places for Category D.
Hredaan Raj Bihani of Kolkata beat the local lads in Category E event as he won by seven clear strokes over Ryan Pargal Lyngdoh and the Girls’ events saw Yaalisai Verma take home the overall title and local lasses Divyanshi Agarwal & Srivani Agarwal winning the Category B & C titles respectively.
The morning saw a special guest AL Hek, Minister of Government of Meghalaya who greeted the juniors in contention and inspired them with his wonderful advice. AH Scott Lyngdoh , former minister and Director in Charge – Golf Shillong Club Ltd, John F Kharshiing, Working President, Meghalaya State Olympic Association, Rahul Bajaj Golf Captain, Batkupar J Synrem Golf Secy, Daniel S Jyrwa, Vice President of MGPS presented the winners with their awards. This is stated in a release.