Home » NATIONAL NEWS » Lok Sabha passes 21 bills in 17 sittings of monsoon session

Lok Sabha passes 21 bills in 17 sittings of monsoon session

Lok Sabha
Lok Sabha

New Delhi, Aug 10: Lok Sabha, which was adjourned sine die on Friday, passed 21 Bills in its 17 sittings during the monsoon session. The government introduced 22 bills in the House as members sat over 20 hours beyond the scheduled time to make up for over eight hours lost in disruptions. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, who adjourned the House sine die at the conclusion of monsoon session, expressed her happiness. The house had 17 sittings which lasted 112 hours. Mahajan said the government introduced 22 Bills and 21 were passed. The significant legislation was on granting constitutional status to National Commission of Backward Classes. Another measure involved restoring the immediate arrest provision in the SC/ST Act.

The other important bills passed by the House include the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, Fugitive Economic Offenders Bill, Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, Trafficking of Persons (Prevention, Protection and Rehabilitation) Bill, Criminal Law (Amendment) Bill, Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of High Courts (Amendment) Bill and Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immovable Property (Amendment) Bill.

Members raised 534 issues of public importance and 326 matters were raised under Rule 377, under which an issue which is not a point of order is raised and requires a written notice by the member. (IANS)