Mushfiqur, Mehedi frustrate India with dogged stand

Hyderabad, Feb 11: Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mehedi Hasan Miraz shone with the bat as Bangladesh recovered from early setbacks to post 322/6 in their first innings at the end of the third day of their one-off cricket Test against India at the Rajiv Gandhi Intertiol Stadium here on Saturday.

Bangladesh now trail India’s mammoth first innings total of 687/6 declared by 365 runs.

The visitors started the day poorly and lost three wickets in morning session.

Reduced to 109/4 at one point, Shakib triggered the visitors’ fightback with a defiant 82. The in-form left-hander looked set to reach three figures before committing a poorly executed shot to hand India’s star off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin his first wicket of the match.

Shakib, who hit 14 boundaries during his 103-ball stay in the middle, stepped out of his crease to hit against the turn but could only mage to find Umesh Yadav at mid-on.

Following Shakib’s departure, Rahim and Hasan continued to defy the Indian bowlers. Rahim was batting on 81 at stumps with Hasan undefeated on 51 at the other end. The duo have so far added 113 runs between them.

Earlier, resuming at the overnight 41/1, Bangladesh ran into trouble early on when a mix-up between Tamim Iqbal and Mominul Haque, along with an excellent piece of fielding by Yadav, saw the former being run out at the non-striker’s end.

Yadav, who was in excellent form, trapped Mominul Haque leg before with an excellent delivery and Ishant sent back Mahmudullah shortly after the drinks break to reduce Bangladesh to 109/4.

After lunch, Shakib and Rahim attempted to stage a comeback before the former virtually gifted away his wicket.

Ravindra Jadeja sent back Sabbir Rahman shortlay after to pile more misery on Bangladesh. IANS


India 1st innings: 687/6 declared

Bangladesh 1st innings: (overnight 41/1)

Tamim Iqbal run out (Yadav/Kumar) 24

Soumya Sarkar c Saha b Yadav 15

Mominul Haque lbw b Yadav 12

Mahmudullah lbw b Sharma 28

Shakib Al Hasan c Yadav b Ashwin 82

Mushfiqur Rahim not out 81

Sabbir Rahman lbw b Jadeja 16

Mehedi Hasan not out 51

Extras (lb 13) 13

Total (in 104 overs) 322 for 6

Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-44, 3-64, 4-109 , 5-216, 6-235

Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 17-6-46-0, Ishant Sharma 16-5-54-1, Ravichandran Ashwin 24-6-77-1, Umesh Yadav 18-3-72-2, Ravindra Jadeja 29-8-60-1.