NBMSU demands inclusion of Bishnupriya Manipuri language in educatiol institutions


SILCHAR, June 23: Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Student Union (NBMSU) and Bishnupriya Manipuri Gasangram Parishad (BMGSP) have jointly sent a memorandum and letter addressed to the Chief Minister Sarbanda Sonowal voicing their long-standing charter of demands, through the Deputy Commissioner of Cachar, on June 21. The letter sent on behalf of the core and agitating organizations, stated that the Bishnupriya Manipuri of the state started continuous movement that was led by Anil Krish Rajkumar, president of Nikhil Bihnupriya Manipuri Student Union (NBMSU) and Bishnupriya Manipuri Gasangram Parishad (BMGSP) headquartered at Barak since 1990. The main demand has been the introduction of Bishnupriya Manipuri language in the primary stage of education in the three districts, Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi.

 It has been stated that a gory movement had already taken place in the year 1996 when Sahid Sudesh Sinha who has been enlisted in the anls of history of Assam and the then Ahom Ga Parishad in education department filly issued a notification for the introduction of the language. A copy of which was handed over to the leaders of the agitating organizations, NBMSU and BMGSP. It has been mentioned in particular that these leading agitating organizations have been struggling for fulfilling other demands of the community related to uplift and development of education and other aspects of socio-economic and culture sides.

 Way back in 2011, the then government of Assam in the Department of Welfare of Plains, Tribes and Backward classes (WPT and BC) constituted the Bishnupriya Manipuri Development Council (BMDC) along with other development councils in the state and so the continuation of the development councils will prove to be beneficial for the OBC communities of the state. It has been said clearly stated that the Bishnupriya Manipuri voters in different constituencies like Silchar, Soi, Katigorah, Borkhola, Dholai, Patharkandi and Ratabari have cast their majority votes favouring the BJP party and therefore they have an expectation from the government. It has been urged upon the Chief Minister to make it convenient to obtain consent of all the organizations like NBMSU, BMGSP, the Bishnupriya Manipuri Women’s Organization (BMWO) and the Bishnupriya Manipuri Ex-Servicemen Organization (BMESCO).

 In addition to these demands, the memorandum regarding holding of a discussion on the charter of demands has been requested for. The various demands put forth includes continuation of Bishnupriya Manipuri language in Upper Primary (ME and MV) schools, inclusion of Bishnupriya Manipuri language as Modern Indian Language subject in the syllabus of the Board of Secondary Education (SEBA) and Assam Higher Secondary Education Council (AHSEC) and in the Bishnupriya Manipuri Community of Assam in the central list of OBC. It has been also suggested in the memorandum to introduce a section for Bishnupriya Manipuri Community people in All India Radio and Doordarshan Kendras of Guwahati and Silchar for Broadcasting or Telecasting of Bishnupriya Manipuri programmes on regular basis.

 The state government has been requested for speeding up the process of appointment of Bishnupriya Manipuri Language Teaching Training Diploma holders in already 300 posts of LP and ME or MV schools in Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi by converting vacant posts of assistant teachers. Other demands include preparation of Bishnupriya Manipuri language textbooks for both ME and MV schools according to the prescribed curriculum and nomition of one person of repute and recognition in the field of social work of Bishnupriya Manipuri Community as Member of Parliament and Member of Legislative Council in the proposed Assam Legislative Council.

 Among others who have pressed for an early action included Rajkumar Anil Krish, chief advisor, Subal Sinha, advisor, Gopidas Sinha, advisor, H.K. Singh, advisor and general secretary, Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Students’ Union, central committee, Dibakar Sinha, chairman-cum-in-charge and Tambak Se Sinha, general secretary, BMGSP, M. Rajkumari, working president of BWMO.

 Mention must be made here that a copy of both the letter and memorandum has been sent to Himanta Biswa Sarma, minister for fince, health and education, government of Assam, Deputy Speaker, Assam Assembly, the Minister for PWD and Excise, MLAs of Soi, Borkhola, Katigorah, Udharbond, Patharkandi and Ratabari and Commissioner and Secretary to the government of Assam, WPT and BC department, Dispur. The Deputy Commissioners, Police Superintendents and media houses of the three districts have also been notified.