Parliamentary Standing Committee on Finance to get Sansad Ratna Award

Chennai, June 4: The Parliamentary Standing Committee on Finance will be awarded the Sansad Ratna Award 2018 for its outstanding performance, a top official said on Monday. “We have decided to honour Departmentally Related Standing Committees with Sansad Ratna Award based on the criteria like the reports presented, numbers of sittings and number of subjects selected and others,” K. Srinivasan, Founder, Prime Point Foundation, told IANS. The Foundation has been awarding top performing MPs since 2010. “In the Indian Parliamentary system, the Standing Committees plays an important role in studying the subjects and guiding the government. Since, we wanted to create awareness about Standing Committees, we have introduced the Award under this category,” Srinivasan added. The selection of award winners was done by a Jury Committee consisting of eminent parliamentarians. “M. Veerappa Moily, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Finance will receive the award at a function to be held in Indian Institute of Technology-Madras on Saturday,” Srinivasan said. Former West Bengal Governor M. K. Narayanan and former Chief Election Commissioner of India T. S. Krishnamurthy will present the awards. (IANS)