Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Party releases 1st list of candidates

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Sep 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From Staff Correspondent

Shillong, Sept 7: The United Democratic Party (UDP) on Thursday released its first list of 28 candidates who would contest the 2018 Assembly elections. The list has no surprises as all the sitting legislators found their mes in the list that has been approved by the party's state election committee (SEC).

Announcing the mes of candidates from the 28 Assembly segments, out of which 18 are in Khasi Jaintia Hills and 10 from Garo Hills, UDP president Dr Donkupar Roy told newsmen that the second list will be released by October.

"We have released a total number of 28 candidates in the first list. We are likely to release the second list of party candidates by October," the UDP president remarked after the meeting of the CEC.

Among the prominent mes that featured in the list include eight sitting legislators of the party - Dr Donkupar Roy (Shella contituency), Paul Lyngdoh (Shillong West constituency), Embhahlang Syiemlieh (Mawlai constituency), Jemino Mawthoh (Nongthymmai constituency), Titosstarwell Chyne (Sohra constituency), H Brolding Nongsiej (Mawthadraishan constituency), Metbah Lyngdoh (Mairang constituency) and Remington Pyngrope (Mawkynrew constituency).

The list also includes three sitting MDCs of the party - Donkupar Sumer (Umsning constituency), Ro Khymdeit (Nongpoh constituency) and Moonglight Pariat (Jowai constituency).

The list has former Deputy Chief Minister Bindo Mathew Lanong (Shillong East constituency) and two former Ministers - Nidhuram Hajong (Mahendraganj constituency) and Nimarson Momin (Salmanpara constituency) - too.

The new faces in the list include former Federation of Khasi Jaintia and Garo People president Joe Marwein (Shillong North constituency), Kyrmen Shylla (Khliehriat constituency), First Force Deki Ramsiej (Umroi constituency), Olan Suin (Mawsynram constituency), Savio Iawphniaw (Mawshynrut constituency), Pius Marwein (Ranikor constituency), Luderburg Ch Momin (Kharkutta constituency), Arun N Marak (Songsak constituency), Bartush R Marak (Rongjeng constituency), Mahamsing M Sangma (Williamgar constituency), Pillarson G Momin (Raksamgre constituency), Kabul A Sangma (Selsella constituency), Utpal Arengh (North Tura constituency) and Pallab D Areng (South Tura constituency).

Next Story