Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Political parties gear up for electoral battle in BTC

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, March 17: The People’s Coordition of Democratic Rights (PCDR), the BJP, Congress and regiol party BPF are optimistic about their victory in the ensuing BTC polls to be held in April. So far the PCDR, BPF, BJP, Sonmilitho Jagostiya Aikya Monch (SJAM) and independent candidates have declared their candidates. Campaigning has also started.

Talking to media persons in Kokrajhar, Rabiram rzary, PCDR candidate from No-9 Bargaon ST constituency said the ruling BPF would be wiped out and PCDR would come to power in BTC. rzary said that the people of the region were looking for change in BTC and going by the people’s mandate, their victory was beyond doubt. He also said that many senior BPF leaders had deserted the party and joined the BJP which proved the troubles of the ruling BPF.

BTC EM Derhasat Basumatary, who is BPF candidate from No-12 Salakati ST constituency, said that the ruling BPF party would come to power again for the third consecutive term in the council. He said that his victory from Salakati was evident and added that no opposition candidate would be a factor for him. Basumatary said all communities under Salakati constituency would cast their vote in his favour because they wanted him to bring more development in the constituency.

PCDR backed candidate from Salakati constituency Hitesh Mashahary said the voters in the constituency had been looking for altertive government in BTC and new change. He alleged that only a section of people loyal to the BPF representatives had been getting most of the advantages and other opportunities in the last 10 years while the common masses were denied of their due rights and benefits. Claiming his victory from Salakati, Mashahary also said he did not see BPF and other parties as factor.

Bibhuti Borgoyary, who recently deserted the BPF and got a BJP ticket to contest from Dotma ST constituency, said that this time the BJP would form the government in BTC. He alleged that during the last 10 years of BPF rule, the common people did not get anything from the elected BPF representatives as most of the elected members were making money for their selfish interest. Claiming his victory from Dotma, he said the common people would be benefitted only when the BJP came to power.

BJP candidate from Fakiragram constituency, Dilip Barman said the response of common people were tremendous for the BJP in his constituency. He asserted that the BJP would win from Fakiragram.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi and Assam Pradesh Congress committee (APCC) President Anjan Dutta will take part in a mass rally at Daimalu field in Kokrajhar on March 18 to woo voters.

Next Story