Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Presidential Poll: 58 MLAs cast votes in Aruchal

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 July 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent
Itagar, July 17: The legislators in Aruchal Pradesh on Monday exercised their franchise to elect the new President of India, result of which will be declared on July 20 next.
Out of the total 59 members in a house of 60, 58 had cast their votes while, Health & Family Welfare minister Jomde Ke could not cast his vote as he was in Delhi where he had exercised his franchise, assembly secretary M Lasa informed.
One seat in the assembly fall vacant after former deputy chief minister and sitting MLA Kameng Dolo from Pakke-Kessang constituency lost the membership of the assembly following a Supreme Court ruling in connection with an election petition filed against him by BJP leader and former minister Atum Welly.
The ruling BJP in the State has 47 MLAs while the Peoples’ Party of Aruchal (PPA), a constituent member of North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) has 9 members who are also supporting the BJP candidate, two independents and a lone Congress member.
The two independent members are also supporting the BJP government in the State.
The Election Commission of India (ECI) on June 29 last issued a notification for the by-election to Pakke Kessang assembly constituency in East Kameng district on July 29 this year.
However, the commission in a notification on July 12 last announced deferment of the poll date, a move which, irked opposition Congress in the State.
State Chief Electoral Officer Kaling Tayeng in the notification stated that the Commission after reviewing all the factors for conduct of by-election, was satisfied that due to monsoon transportation of polling parties and election material, maintence of polling stations and participation of all stake holders in the said by-election was not possible for ensuring fair and smooth conduct of poll.
“The Election Commission, in exercise of powers under Article 324 of the Constitution of India, read with Section 150 and 30 of the RP Act, 1951 and Section 21 of the General Clauses Act, 1897, hereby rescinds the notification of July 5, calling the by-election to 12-Pakke Kessang (ST) AC and all proceedings taken so far in pursuance of the said notification are declared as null and void,” the notification added.

Next Story