Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Proteas me three uncapped players

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  27 Jun 2017 12:00 AM GMT

Johannesburg, June 26: Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday announced three uncapped players in their Test squad for the England tour, starting from July 6.

All-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo, wicket-keeper batsman Heino Kuhn and medium Pacer Aiden Markram have been included in the South African squad, which is led by Faf du Plessis.

Phehlukwayo and Kuhn have replaced pace bowler Wayne Parnell and batsman Stephen Cook respectively whereas Makram has been included to provide batting cover for batsman Faf du Plessis.

Phehlukwayo has earlier featured in 17 One Day Intertiol and seven Twenty20 Intertiol (T20I) matches for his side. Whereas Kuhn has played in seven T20I.

"CSA today med Multiply Titans opening batsman, Heino Kuhn, all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo as uncapped players in the Standard Bank Proteas Test squad for the four-match Test Series against England, starting next month," CSA said in an official statement.

"They take the places of Stephen Cook and Wayne Parnell respectively from the squad that played the last series against New Zealand," it added.

Makram is still to get Intertiol experience, having scored 1007 runs in a List A career with an average of 41.95.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Jean Paul Duminy, Dean Elgar, Heino Kuhn, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Duanne Olivier, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada. IANS

Next Story