Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sangram Committee for more passenger trains from Silchar

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 Nov 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From a correspondent

Silchar, Nov 27: The starting of the first special passenger train services on the newly constructed BG track is a historic moment for the people of Barak Valley and adjoining states of Tripura, Mizoram and Manipur. But, more passenger service trains should be introduced to connect this remote part of the country with the rest of the tion. One superfast Howrah bound daily train should be introduced. Besides, express trains should be introduced in Silchar-Delhi route and Silchar-Cheni route to cater to the demands of the huge numbers of patients, students and travelling people.

Besides, a daily passenger train from Silchar to Dibrugarh should be introduced. The NF Railway should retain two earlier trains, Barak Valley Express and Cachar Express, which used to run on the Silchar-Guwahati route on a daily basis. The NF Railway should complete the pending BG conversion works in South Assam, Tripura, Mizoram and Manipur within the stipulated time. The major towns of the valley including Silchar, Badarpur and Karimganj among others should be connected by introducing local trains after the completion of the BG conversion work in Karimganj section.

These were among the points stated in a memorandum sent to the Railway Minister Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu by the members of Silchar-Lumding Broad Gauge Rupayan Sangram Committee recently. The members expressed their satisfaction over the starting of the special passenger train on November 20. They said the people of Dima Hasao district along with the people of Barak Valley and the adjoining states of Mizoram, Manipur and Tripura are now eagerly waiting for the completion of the remaining gauge conversion works and introduction of more trains to connect this remote region with the rest of the country. The memorandum was signed by Ajoy Roy, Arungashu Bhattacharjee and Sushil Paul of the Committee.

Next Story