Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

School to complete 150 years, celebration committee formed

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  7 Aug 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

Goalpara, Aug 6: The historical Prithiram Government HS and MP School, the first Assamese medium school in the undivided Goalpara district, is all set to celebrate completion of 150 years in the following year. In this regard, a permanent celebration committee was formed on Sunday in a general meeting held in the school with veteran academician Rafique Zaman as president, M. Sojimuddin Ahmed, Principal as working president, leading social worker Ratkar Das as secretary and Mahesh Deka, former Principal as treasurer.

In addition to this, there will be six patrons, 26 advisors, six vice-presidents and several other office bearers. Other important sub-committees like Fince, Culture, Souvenir and Publicity were also formed for the smooth functioning of the programme.

The new committees will chalk out the programmes for the successful and magnificent completion of the significant year. To add glory in its history, the committee has included in its agenda to invite the President of India for the concluding ceremony.

In the same meeting, young entrepreneur Shahi Mohd. Karim, chairman, fince sub-committee, gave an elaborate speech on the present surplus fiscal condition of the State trade and hoped to receive full cooperation from cross section of the society for hazard-free observation of the celebration. Dhiman Singha, chairman, publicity sub-committee and regular columnist in State dailies, proposed to raise a full-fledged auditorium hall to commemorate the auspicious occasion.

From the chair, Rafique Zaman, president of the meeting, sought cooperation from cross-section of people to showcase the beautiful past and magnificent present of this important educatiol hub of West Assam. Among others who also gave valuable suggestions were Mahesh Deka, former Principal, Monower Hussain, former MLA, Dr. Brajen Das, academician Parthoprotim Das, Shakeel Masud, Under Secretary, Irrigation department, Jayanta Medhi, businessmen Bishnu Das and Eyet Hussain.

Next Story