Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Triangular contest in Sivasagar, Congress looks to profit from BJP infighting

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

SIVASAGAR, March 28: The 108 Sivasagar constituency, domited by a rural population, is expected to witness a triangular contest in the April 4 assembly polls. The sitting MLA and Assembly Speaker from the INC, Prab Gogoi, is in a strong position again. What should aid Gogoi is the presence of BJP rebel Jayanta Rajkonwari in the poll fray.

With the opposition party fielding Rajkonwari this time, ATASU leader Aswini Chetia filed his nomition as Independent under the banner of Asom Sangrami Mancha.

In all, there are eight candidates here, including Jayanta Rajkonwar of Trimool BJP, Jiten Borpatra Gohain of CPI, Dr Gunin Basumatary of LDP, Dilchand Hussain Ahmed of AIUDF and Anuwar Hussain of Independent. Of the 1,35,839 voters, nearly 78 per cent belong to the rural areas and Ahom voters. This is another factor that works in favour of the INC candidate and sitting MLA. The BJP is also crippled by infighting. According to sources, BJP thought that conflict of candidate selection will be all right in time, but when party declared Surabhi Rajkonwari, a less known figure as candidate for Sibsagar assembly constituency, other 10 ticket aspirants of Sibsagar BJP started mudslinging politics. BJP’s Jayanta Rajkonwar, who expected to get the ticket from Sivasagar constituency, denied a ticket and he later filed his nomition as a Trimool BJP candidate.

On the other hand, sources said a few days back another ticket aspirant of BJP Bhoben Mohan, assured Surabhi Rajkonwari to help her in the poll. But now he is seen busy in campaigning for the Thowra BJP candidate instead of Surabhi Rajkonwari, sources said.

Next Story