Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Two candidates nomition papers rejected in Teok

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

JORHAT, March 19: Jagjit Singh, General Observer for Assam Assembly Election, 2016, arrived in Jorhat on Friday to take stock of poll preparations. Jagjit Singh, who is posted as Joint Secretary, School Education and Literacy as well as Director, Mid-Day Meal programme of the Government of Jharkhand, will take part in the scrutiny of nomition papers, meet officials of election duty and visit polling stations randomly during his stay.

The Observer is expected to look into MCC violations as well as functioning of different cells formed for the election. Singh will also see that guidelines prescribed by the Election Commission of India for free, fair and peaceful election are maintained in letter and spirit in Jorhat election district. The Observer can also be contacted over phone in the number 8811966883 or through e-mail at for any complaint or query related to election. He will stay in Jorhat till polling and will revisit before the counting of votes.

Meanwhile, nomitions of two candidates in fray for 102 Teok LAC have been rejected on Saturday during scrutiny of nomition papers of the three constituencies of Jorhat election district. The scrutiny of nomition papers for 97 Dergaon (SC) LAC, 98 Jorhat LAC and 102 Teok LAC was held in the conference hall of DC’s Office on Saturday in the presence of General Observer Jagjit Singh.

Altogether, 14 candidates filed nomitions from Teok LAC. The candidates whose nomition papers have been rejected are Golap Saikia of AIUDF and Soshi Kanta Hazarika of Rastriya Secular Congress. Amongst the validly nomited candidates of Teok, three are from recognized political parties and rest are Independent candidates.

For Jorhat and Dergaon LACs, nomitions of all candidates have been found valid. While seven candidates have filed nomition papers for Jorhat, five candidates filed for Dergaon LAC. Last date of withdrawal of nomition papers is March 21.

Next Story