Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Udalguri ABSU’s 40th annual conference concludes

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Jan 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From our Correspondent

UDALGURI, January 7: The 40th annual conference of Udalguri district committee ABSU concluded on Wednesday with a message of peace and harmony.

A peace rally was brought out in Udalguri town and ABSU clearly conveyed the message to society that they would not tolerate any kind of violence in the region. The open session was iugurated by Udalguri Deputy Commissioner Sadha Hojai. She lauded ABSU for working for the uplift of education and to maintain peace and commul harmony in the region. Citing the untoward incidents that took place in the district recently, Hojai appreciated the role of ABSU to defuse the commul tension and also appealed to other organizations to follow the path of ABSU.

Pramod Boro, the president of ABSU, appealed to all the people of the region to work unitedly for the betterment of society. “Other communities have assisted us and we also have to help them redress their ethnic problems,” he said. He termed the ongoing sporadic violence in the region as a threat to the humanity. “Weapons have domited the society. We must see which direction this is leading the society to,” said Boro.

The ABSU conferred the 6th martyr Fwdan Daimary Memorial Award on Dr Leeladhar Brahma and senior citizens Chandra Mohan Chhetry, Gobardhan Prasad Chouhan, Jatindra th Sarmah, Rameswar Boro and. Andrious L. Mardi were felicitated during the session. The ABSU delegate session adopted resolutions condemning the December 23 killings and also the counter attacks on innocent villagers. They demanded adequate relief and rehabilitation to the affected people. The ABSU also condemned the attempts of BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary to link the ABSU with the NDFB(S). ABSU leaders said that theirs was a democratic organization which did not believe in any kind of violent activities. They also said that the ABSU would participate in the 2015 BTC election through PCDR (People’s Coordition for Democratic Rights).

Next Story