Visiting Northeast a unique experience: SEIL


Silchar, Feb 18: 14 delegates of Students’ Experience In Inter-state Living (SEIL), have expressed their satisfaction and contentment at their visit to the Northeastern states.

Addressing a press-meet today at Hasi-Khushi Community Hall, here, the delegates shared their experiences and told how their perception regarding northeast has changed after the visit.

The delegates who are on a tour, have come from various states of the country, Tamil du, Andhra Pradesh, Kartaka, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, Jharkhand, Gauraksh, Awadh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal and Himachal Pradesh.

 All the delegates were of the opinion that their perception regarding northeast has undergone sea change and this tour has etched a special place. The tour was the coordited under the leadership of Plabon Kumar Das.  One tion, one people, one culture is the credo of SEIL. Unity and integrity is not a mere slogan for the organization. It is a commitment. SEIL has always been to bridge the communication gap and to highlight the similarities in the divergent life styles particularly of the people residing at border areas and in other parts of the country. SEIL started its journey in 1966 when a group of ABVP activists, on a visit to the northeastern states, observed a huge emotiol gap between the people of northeast and the rest of the country. It is disheartening to state here that for the rest of the country, any person from northeast region was colloquially called a Nepali or Chinese.

The delegates, addressing the media-persons, said that development of a country depends upon the ruling party. The ruling party should not think of its own benefits, rather, concentrate on the development of the tion as a whole. Last evening, under the aegis of SEIL, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Silchar unit, organized a semir cum cultural programme at Banga Bhawan. The event was graced by the presence of MLA Dilip Kumar Paul, the Deputy Speaker of Assam Assembly, Kabindra Purkayastha, former Union Minister, Sreehari Borikar, former tiol general secretary, ABVP, and Niharendra rayan Thakur, chairman, Silchar Municipal Board, along with the other delegates.