Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assembly polls: BJP announces first list

Assembly polls: BJP announces first list

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 March 2019 6:42 AM GMT


ITANAGAR: Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu will contest the April 11 Assembly elections from Mukto, his home constituency in Tawang district, bordering China. Since the 2004 Assembly elections, the Mukto seat created a history of sorts by electing MLAs unopposed. Khandu, heading a BJP government since December 2016, was elected unopposed from the constituency in 2014. He also had no rival in the 2011 by- election to the Mukto Assembly seat. The death of his father and former Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu in a helicopter crash in April 2011 had necessitated the by-poll.

The senior Khandu too had won the Mukto seat uncontested – in 1990, his first, and in 2004 and 2009 – for the Congress. The constituency is dominated by the Monpa community following Buddhism.

The BJP on Sunday declared the names of candidates for 54 assembly constituencies in the State out of total 60.

Among the list of candidates, a few are first-timers while several sitting Ministers and MLAs, including Home Minister Kumar Waii from Bameng constituency and Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin from Aalo East seat, were denied tickets.

Sitting MLAs who were denied party tickets this time includes Tapuk Taku (Seppa East), Pani Taram (Koloriang), Punji Mara (Taliha), Dikto Yekar (Daporijo), Kardo Nyigyor (Likabali), Lombo Tayeng (Mebo), C T Mein (Chowkham), Wanglin Lowangdong (Borduria- Bogapani) and Thangwang Wangham from Longding-Pumao assembly constituency.

According to party sources here, Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein has been fielded from Chowkham constituency instead of Lekang which he has been representing for the five consecutive terms since 1995, due to the recent Statewide protest over the permanent residence certificate (PRC) issue in the State.

The Lekang constituency has over 70 per cent non-tribal voters who are demanding grant of PRCs.

The BJP came to power in the Himalayan State after a majority of Congress MLAs deserted the party to ally with it and later joined it.

Also read: Arunachal news

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News