Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

6 candidates file nomination papers for BTC Polls in Kokrajhar

6 candidates file nomination papers for BTC Polls in Kokrajhar

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 March 2020 4:18 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR: Six more candidates-four from UPPL, one from Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) and an independent candidate - filed their nomination papers before the Returning Officer, Kokrajhar on Tuesday.

Pratibha Brahma, UPPL candidate from Baokhungri ST constituency, submitted nomination papers before the Assistant Returning Officer. She was accompanied by senior party leaders and a large number of supporters. Other UPPL candidates-Buddhadev Mashahary for Debargaon ST, Hitesh Mashahary for Salakati ST and Rabiram Brahma for Banargaon ST- e also filed their nomination papers on Tuesday. Manaj Rabha from GSP filed nomination papers for Debargaon ST while independent candidate Nijwm Basumatary filed nomination papers for Salakati ST constituency.

Later, talking to reporters, UPPL candidate Pratibha Brahma, who is also vice-president of the party, said this time the people of the region wanted a change, a new government which would be corruption-free and which would deliver good governance. She said people from all communities had come forward in support of UPPL with a view for new change. She said the BPF candidate would be her main opponent in the forthcoming polls.

Another UPPL candidate, Buddhadeve Mashahary, who is going to contest against BPF president Hagrama Mohilary at Debargaon constituency, said Mohilary would face a tough situation due to anti-incumbency factor and since he had lost confidence in himself, he had filed nomination papers in two constituencies.

Also Read: 4 BPF candidates including Hagrama Mohilary file papers for BTC polls in Kokrajhar

Also Watch: Cruise ship tourists in quarantine at Nimati Ghat in Jorhat were released today

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News