Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Subodh, Vinod retain posts

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  23 Jun 2018 11:30 PM GMT

GUWAHATI, June 23: The Sports Journalists Federation of India at the Annual General Body meeting here on Saturday decided to confer the inaugural SJFI medal to tennis legend Vijay Amritraj.

The 64-year-old multi-faceted Padma Sri awardee will be honoured during the SJFI annual convention scheduled to be held in Bengaluru from September 18-22.

The Gold Coast Commonwealth Games gold medalist in Javelin Throw Neeraj Chopra was named the Sportsperson of the year, while the history-making men and women’s table tennis team which represented the country at the CWG was adjudged the team of the year.

Manu Bhaker, the youngest India to win a gold medal at the ISSF World Cup, is this year’s Emerging talent of the year.

At the AGM, it was also decided to award three eminent sports personalities - Anjali Bhagwat, PK Banerjee and WV Raman - the SJFI honorary membership.

Meanwhile Subodh Malla Barua (Assam Sports Journalists Association) and A Vinod (Kerala Sports Journalists Association) were unanimously re-elected as the president and secretary of the SJFI for the 2018-20 term. Prasanth Keni was retained the treasurer.

Office-bearers for 2018-2020: President: Subodh Malla Barua (Assam); Vice-presidents: Jac Gladson (Telegana), Tushar Trivedi (Gujarat), R Narayanan (Tamil Nadu), Sarju Chakraborty (Tripura); Secretary: A Vinod (Kerala); Joint secretary: Manuja Veerappa (Bangalore); Treasurer: Prasanth Keni (Mumbai). Executive Committee: Abhishek Sengupta (Kolkata), Amitabha Das Sharma (Kolkata), Sambit Mahapatra (Odisha), Bidyut Kalita (Assam), Vikas Pandey (Indore), Devendra Pandey (Mumbai), Sandeep Dabhekar (Nagpur).

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News