Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Meghalaya Assembly Speaker Election on September 13

Meghalaya Assembly Speaker Election on September 13

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Sep 2019 11:00 AM GMT

A Correspondent

SHILLONG: The election to the post of Speaker of the Meghalaya Assembly will be held on September 13, the last day of the Autumn Session, Deputy Speaker, Timothy D Shira on Monday announced. Shira informed the House that the filing of nomination papers will be held on Tuesday and scrutiny will be held on September 11. It may be mentioned that the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) coalition has put up United Democratic Party (UDP) legislator from Mairang and Tourism and Water Resources Minister, Metbah Lyngdoh, as their candidate.

The Opposition Congress has chosen its two-time MLA from Salmanpara constituency, Winnerson D. Sangma as their candidate for the Speaker’s post.

Meanwhile, Lyngdoh a three-time MLA will be resigning from his post as Minister in the MDA cabinet on Tuesday.

The election for the post of Meghalaya Assembly Speaker was necessitated after the demise of Late Dr Donkupar Roy on July 28.

In the 60-member Assembly with an effective strength of 59, the National People’s Party, which leads the coalition government, has 21 members, United Democratic Party (eight), People’s Democratic Front (four), two members each from Bharatiya Janata Party and Hill State People’s Party, one member each from Nationalist Congress Party and Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement besides one independent member.

Also Read: Meghalaya Assembly Pays Tribute to Former Speaker Dr. Donkupar Roy

Also watch: Chandrayaan 2 Mission : Meet Nidhi Sharma (Scientist at ISRO) from Tinsukia

Next Story