Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Bharatiya Janata Party to Commence its Pre-poll Campaigns from October 17 in Mizoram

Bharatiya Janata Party to Commence its Pre-poll Campaigns from October 17 in Mizoram

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Oct 2018 10:02 AM GMT

Bharatiya Janata Party is to commence its pre-poll campaigning in Mizoram from October 17. BJP president Amit Shah announced the same whose party is aiming at a ‘Congress Mukt’ Northeast India in this assembly poll. Shah will be taking part in the pre-poll campaigns by addressing the booth level booth-level workers in Mizoram on October 17. Notably, the assembly elections in Mizoram will take place on November 28th.

The BJP president in Mizoram, JV Hluna said, “Amit Shah will inaugurate the party office in Aizwal. He will address booth-level party workers. Around 15,000 booth level workers from across the state will attend the meeting. A gathering of 15,000 workers is considered huge in Mizoram.”

Currently, BJP is occupying Assam, Tripura, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh along with coalition governments in Meghalaya and Nagaland. This year, it has decided to go all alone in the Mizoram polls contesting for all the 40 seats there. If it succeeds in making its mark in the Mizoram then it will be more like a clean sweep for the political party in north-East India. Along with Mizoram, Sikkim too is in the hit list of the Bharatiya Janata Party with efforts to de-throne its local political party.

The BJP candidates for the assembly polls have also been decided already. While BJP has already prepared its blueprint, other parties to contest in the assembly polls of Mizoram too have fastened their seat belts. There have been plannings of forging a pre-poll electoral alliance between the three regional parties –– the People’s Represent for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM), Mizoram Chhantu Pawl (MCP) and Save Mizoram Front and Operation Mizoram.

Of the regional political parties, the Mizo National Front (MNF) which is a member of the BJP-floated platform of non-Congress parties has announced to go without any understanding or seat-sharing arrangement with the BJP.

Next Story