Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

P.S. Golay Swears In As Sikkim Chief Minister Again, Former Council of Ministers Retained

P.S. Golay Swears In As Sikkim Chief Minister Again, Former Council of Ministers Retained

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 Dec 2019 5:36 AM GMT

The fresh appointment and swearing-in of SKM president P.S. Golay as the Chief Minister of Sikkim took place on Saturday evening at Sikkim House, New Delhi. Governor Ganga Prasad administrated the oath of office and secrecy to Golay at the formal ceremony, informs a Raj Bhawan release.

The fresh appointment and sequent swearing-in was necessitated following the completion of six month term at workplace of Chief Minister by P.S. Golay and his election to the Sikkim legislative Assembly within the Assembly bye-election command in October this year, the release mentions.

Golay had been appointed as the Chief Minister of Sikkim on May this year. He was to urge electoral as a member of the Assembly among six months. He contested and won the Poklok-Kamrang bye-elections this October.

The Raj Bhawan release informs that the swearing-in ceremony was necessitated at Sikkim House, New Delhi due to the travel restrictions on the Governor on account of his health issues. The Governor is presently undergoing treatment in New Delhi and has been suggested against travel. He's underneath medication and bed rest following issues and diagnosis related to his spinal cord since November 26, the release mentions.

Earlier on the day, the SKM legislative party had submitted a proper resolution to the Governor, reposing their continued faith on Golay as their leader and unanimously electing him as the SKM legislative party leader.

Chief secretary S.C. Gupta, senior government officials and others were present at the ceremony.

On Sunday, the Governor appointed and administrated oath of office and secrecy to the council of ministers of the SKM government at Sikkim House, New Delhi. The similar council of ministers, who took oath in might this year, were preserved. They are K.N. Lepcha, Sonam Lama, B.S. Panth, Dr. M.K. Sharma, Arun Kumar Upreti, Samdup Lepcha, Lok Nath Sharma, Mingma Norbu Sherpa, Karma Loday Bhutia, Bhim Hang Limboo and Sanjit Kharel, the release informs.

Also Read: Sikkim Chief Minister P.S. Golay Stresses On Strengthening Bond With Centre

Also Watch: AASU organized cycle and bike rally against Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) in Assam

Next Story