Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AIUDF announces second list, five sitting MLAs dropped

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, March 18: The AIUDF today announced its candidates for 23 seats for the second phase of assembly elections, dropping as many as five sitting legislators.

Sitting legislators Jahanuddin (Dhubri), Gul Akhtara Begum (Bilasipara East), Monowar Hussain (Goalpara East), Moinuddin Ahmed (Jaleswar) and Mujibur Rehman (Rupahihat) were denied tickets while eight others - Sheikh Shah Alom, Abul Kalam Azad, Abdur Rahim Khan, Rafiqul Islam, Ali Hossain, Gopi th Das, Aminul Islam and Swapan Kar were retained.

The AIUDF has nomited zrul Haque in Dhubri, Muslem Uddin Chowdhury in Bilasipara East, Mono Borgayari in Kokrajhar East, Kamaleswar Ray in Bijni, Anta Malo in Abhayapuri South, Shadeed Mazumdar in Goalpara East, Sheikh Shah Alom in Goalpara West, Abdur Razzaque Mollah in Jaleswar, Samsul Haque in Sorbhog, Abul Kalam Azad in Bhawanipur, Abdur Rahim Khan in Barpeta, Hafiz Rafiqul Islam in Jania, Sheikh Abdul Hamid in Baghbor, Ali Hussain in Sarukhetri, Liaqat Ali Khan in Chenga, Gopi th Das in Boko, Hiren Das in Mangaldai, Dhaniram Rajowar in Dhekiajuli, Haji Aminul Islam in Dhing, ziruddin Ahmed in Batadrova, Nurul Amin Chy in Rupahihat, Dhaniram Thausen in Hojai, Pankaj Islari in Sidli and Swapan Kar in Lumding.

The party, battling disgruntlement over ticket distribution, is yet to announce candidates at Bilasipara West, South Salmara and Jamumukh.

In the face of the resentment, the party has been forced to announce today's list through tweets.

Next Story