Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Anxious times for sitting MLAs

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 April 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, April 20: How many sitting legislators will be able to retain their seats this assembly elections? If one goes by the State’s electoral history, it has not been pleasant for many sitting legislators.

In none of the elections could more than half the sitting legislators retain their seats.

In 1991, only 34 sitting MLAs were re-elected to the 126-member assembly. In the next elections, 52 of the legislators could retain their seats, while in 2001, 44 of them got re-elected. In 2006 and 2011, the number of sitting legislators who retained their seats was 50 and 58 respectively.

The oldest serving legislator is Rameswar Dhanowar, elected from Digboi eight times. He, however, has opted out this time, paving the way for his son Gautam to contest from the seat.

Similarly, seven-time MLA Bhumidhar Barman is not contesting this time. His son Diganta is in fray from Barkhetri.

Six-time MLAs Gautam Roy (Congress), Phani Bhusan Choudhury (AGP) and PK Mahanta (AGP) are in fray this time, and so are five-time legislators Pramila Rani Brahma (BPF), Ardhendu Dey (Congress), Sarat Barkataky (Congress) and Prithvi Majhi (Congress).

Next Story